Friday, 1 July 2011

A Good Hanging and Other Stories by Ian Rankin - Book Review

A Good Hanging and Other Stories is a collection of short stories written by the British crime novelist Ian Rankin, famous for his John Rebus series. This is also a novel which features John Rebus. The book has twelve short stories.

John Rebus is a police Detective Inspector based in Edinburgh, addicted to smoking and drinking. He is an officer who has various contacts around the town, but is not very outspoken. In fact, nobody knows anything much about him.

All the stories in this book happen in Edinburgh. Most of the stories are based on murder or some other crime. Most of the short stories were very good. But there were several demerits. Till the story Good Hanging, the stories were interesting but after that, the author didn't have much ideas and added lousy stories just to increase the number of pages. After the Good Hanging, only one out of the six remaining stories are good. One of the stories did not have anything related to crime.   

The language and description of the author is good but that is something expected from him. I'd say that this is a reasonable book, but for the second half, because of which the rating for this book falls from 8 to 6.

Rating – 6 / 10

Have a nice day,


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...